ATG People in the News 5/6/15

by | May 6, 2015 | 0 comments

LYRASIS members elected four new Board of Trustees members, who will each serve a three-year term. The new Board members will start their terms on July 1, 2015.

The LYRASIS Member Election was open for two weeks, beginning April 13 and closing April 24. LYRASIS members voted for candidates to fill the open Board positions, which included two representatives from academic and/or research libraries, one public library representative and one representative from a state library or group library.

The new Board Members are:

2 Academic and/or Research Library Representatives:

  • Joe Lucia – Temple University (PA)
  • Kathlin (Kathy) Ray – University of Nevada, Reno

1 Public Library Representative:

  • Gina Millsap – Topeka & Shawnee County Public Library (KS)

State Library Representative or Group Member Representative:

  • Jo Budler – State Library of Kansas

Follett Corporation, a trusted partner to preK-12 schools, districts and college campuses for more than 140 years, today announced that its Board of Directors has appointed Ray A. Griffith as the Company’s President and Chief Executive Officer, effective immediately. He succeeds Mary Lee Schneider, who has retired from Follett as both President and Chief Executive Officer and Director.

Mr. Griffith, 61, has served as a member of Follett’s Board of Directors since February 2013. As President and CEO, he will continue to serve on the Board. Mr. Griffith brings more than 35 years of transformative leadership experience to Follett, most recently serving as the President and CEO of Ace Hardware until April 2013. At Ace, Mr. Griffith modernized the locally-owned hardware store, pioneering the “next generation” retail store format and opening more than 990 new locations in eight years…

The Trustees of the Booker Prize Foundation announce today that, after a careful selection process, they have appointed Gaby Wood as the next Literary Director of the Foundation. She succeeds Ion Trewin, who sadly died earlier this month.

For the past five years, Gaby has been Head of Books at the Daily Telegraph. In that time, she has reinvigorated the paper’s literary coverage, been instrumental in its sponsorship of the Hay Festival, and profiled leading cultural and public figures from Toni Morrison to Boris Johnson. She will be leaving her Telegraph post at the end of June, but will continue to write for the paper.

Gaby is the author of Edison’s Eve, a history of automata that was shortlisted for the National Book Critics Circle Award in the US. She has contributed to a wide range of publications, including the New York Times, the London Review of Books, American Vogue and Granta. Before her arrival at the Telegraph, she worked at the Observer for 15 years, seven of which were spent in New York.

Gaby was a judge for the Man Booker Prize in 2011, the year when Julian Barnes won with The Sense of An Ending. She has also sat on judging panels for Granta’s once-in-a-decade list of Best of Young British Novelists; the Jerwood Award for non-fiction; the Geoffrey Faber Memorial Prize; and the Bookseller Awards. She is regularly asked to comment on radio and television, for programmes such as Newsnight, Front Row, Woman’s Hour and the BBC News at Ten. Her academic background is in modern languages; she speaks Spanish and French…”

Sign-up Today!

Join our mailing list to receive free daily updates.

You have Successfully Subscribed!

Pin It on Pinterest