Date: Monday, August 1, 2011
This session is intended to last 90 minutes starting at: 11:30am Pacific, 12:30pm Mountain, 1:30pm Central, 2:30pm Eastern

 Description: The Library of Congress, the National Agricultural Library, and the National Library of Medicine have jointly determined that to achieve a viable and robust metadata infrastructure for the future, RDA–Resource Description & Access should be in that future. This decision was not made lightly, but based on a substantive test using RDA in which 23 libraries and the three U.S. national libraries participated. This webinar will share the thoughts of LC’s Associate Librarian for Library Services, Deanna Marcum, and its Director for Acquisitions & Bibliographic Access, Beacher Wiggins. Dr. Marcum will give her reactions to reviewing and accepting the recommendations of the U.S. RDA Test Coordinating Committee. Mr. Wiggins, a Coordinating Committee co-chair, will describe the test, findings, and analyses that led to the recommendation to implement RDA not sooner than January 2013.

 Presenters:  Deanna Marcum, Associate Librarian for Library Services, Library of Congress and Beacher Wiggins, Director for Acquisitions & Bibliographic Access, Library of Congress

Fees: There is no charge to attend this webinar but advance registration is required

 To Register, complete the online registration form at https://www1.gotomeeting.com/register/520055320

For questions about registration, contact ALA Registration by calling 1-800-545-2433 and press 5 or email registration@ala.org.

For all other questions or comments related to the webinars, contact Julie Reese, ALCTS Events Manager at 1-800-545-2433, ext. 5034 or jreese@ala.org.