The Medical Library Association (MLA) has awarded grants sponsored by EBSCO to four librarians to assist with travel and conference-related expenses to attend the MLA Annual Meeting in Minneapolis, May 13-18, 2011. The four $1,000 awards are presented annually to librarians who are early in their careers and currently employed in a health sciences library.

This year’s grant recipients are:

  • Trish Chatterley, public services librarian and liaison librarian to the faculty of pharmacy and pharmaceutical sciences, University of Alberta-Edmonton, Canada
  • Anna Katherine Crawford, information services librarian, West Virginia University, Morgantown, W.Va.
  • Lara Handler, school of medicine librarian, University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill, Chapel Hill, N.C.
  • Ryan Rafferty, assistant health sciences librarian, University of Illinois-Chicago, Urbana, Ill.

The MLA annual meeting provides an opportunity for health sciences librarians to present and discuss papers, posters, applied research and important issues related to health sciences information management. The grant recipients will be recognized at the Awards Ceremony and Luncheon during the conference on May 16, 2011. They will join more than 2,000 fellow health information professionals at this year’s meeting.

To be considered for the award, applicants must be currently employed in a health sciences library and have two to five years experience. Each candidate must complete an application form and write a short essay answering the question: “What do you expect to gain professionally and/or personally by attending the MLA annual meeting?”

Applicants are judged by a jury comprising five members of MLA, appointed by the President of MLA. This year’s jury was chaired by Sandra De Groote, University of Illinois at Chicago, and included Jon Crossno, University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center Library, Dallas; Pamela Sherwill-Navarro, Remington College of Nursing, Lake Mary, Fla.; Mary K. Taylor, Southern Illinois University, Carbondale, Ill.; and K. T. Vaughan, University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill, Chapel Hill, N.C.

“As chair of the EBSCO MLA Grant jury and a former recipient of the grant, it is great to see EBSCO continue their support through the grant,” says De Groote. “Especially in this economy, it provides an opportunity for some very deserving librarians to attend the MLA annual meeting that may not have been able to otherwise. I am excited for this year’s recipients who will have the opportunity to meet with other librarians, share their experiences and reflect on new ideas to try.”

The deadline for grant applications for the 2012 MLA conference is Dec. 1, 2011. Information about the grant and application process for is on the MLA website: